A special trip home {North East PA photographer}

FB Cover WM

In late Summer, my high school best friend Angela asked if I might be coming back home to PA any time, and if I was, would I have time for a family session… because they hadn’t had photos taken SINCE HER WEDDING. Dude. Yes, all the yeses. I knew the perfect place, too.

My family’s grape farm in North East, PA ❤

Ange was my best friend all through high school. I spent nearly every other day at her house, and probably every single day over the summers! We spent hours walking the sidewalks of our hometown, putting miles on our feet. Those walks and my time with Ange and the entire Licata family are some of my best memories.
Life got away from Angie and me, as it tends to do; but little trick life has is bringing people back to you. I don’t even recall how Ange and I reconnected- probably over Glee :*) Matt(y), who I was lucky enough to know during his first year is now 16 years old (17 in just a few short weeks!) and TBH, it was totally trippy to photograph him as a teenager. In my memory, he’s still a baby and we’re all still smooshing his cheeks and saying, “My name is ChubbaWubba” He has grown into an amazing young man; artistic and kind, loving and pretty rad.

AML-42wm
And then there’s sister Sierra. She is Angela’s clone- looking through my viewfinder at her was like looking backward in time. She told me her birthday was in December, and she actually liked it a lot that people think she and her Mom are so similar, Isn’t that awesome?

AML-27wm

And Kendall, only three or four months older than my own daughters. He was silly and spirited and pretty much what every eight year old boy is :*) I said to him, “I love your silly face bunches. I know your mom loves it too- but let’s do something she isn’t expecting. Let’s give her one grown up smile face, how about?” and he grinned and gave me….AML-19wm

I am eternally grateful for my reconnection with Angie. I wish I hadn’t lost years with her, but we have our whole lives to make up for it.  There’s no one else I’d rather have describe to me on the phone what was going on during “South Park” (because I didn’t have cable and had never seen it) no one else I’d rather stay up all hours of the night playing Nintendo- she was always way better than me. No one else, to wander aimlessly through town talking about our boy problems, life problems, forging a bond that will never be broken.

 

 

Leave a Reply

