Why you should just take the picture :life:

I noticed that I had taken fewer shots of my own kids than “usual”. I was working a lot more, and blabla life stuff, but I love taking pictures of my girls. I looked through the pictures I had and realized—they’re all very “posed”. Not terribly much in the way of our daily life or lifestyle. I don’t think I took any pictures at Christmas. I didn’t take my camera to Thanksgiving, and I know it sat at my desk during their birthday (twins man, those birthdays get pretty busy). There are very few of the girls just playing together which is one of my favorite parts of our lives.

Ooh, posey. : /

I tried to step out of my own box and look at what was holding me back and it hit me when I shared a picture of my cat to FB (on my dinner table being a bad kitty, because of course there was a cat on my dinner table).

My house is a mess. My family room has piles of toys everywhere, legos spread across all surfaces, Barbie clothes everywhere. My kitchen has cups on the counter, and last night’s supper pans in the sink. There are books on the dinner table, and like I said, the cat.

If you follow any lifestyle photographers, you see these gorgeous homes- perfectly cleaned, gorgeous light in every room, nary a dust ball on the floor. And forget a-hole pets on their dinner table.

I thought something else—screw it. We live here. Having a spotless home is not a priority for me. We pick up, but you’ll probably never see our whole counter top. There will always be cat/dog fluff swirling their ballets across the floor. My throw pillows will never be artfully arranged. This is what our lives are- they’re messy and chaotic. And I’m going to be more mindful about shooting us just the way we are. Slovenly pig sty and all 😉

Take the picture. Don’t worry about the mess. Sometimes, life is messy.

Leave a Reply

