Thrift shop find! { film photography}

For Mother’s Day yesterday, my husband, kids, and I went to a local thrift shop Givits “Thrift & Recycle” (5153 Darrow Rd. Hudson, Ohio). It was so cool- I found exactly what I was looking for (a nice solid wood chair for kids) and…. then I found this beauty. I love it. It was super well priced for what I thought was going to just sit pretty on a shelf in my office. The body is in great condition, it came with it’s original user manual (!!), the only thing that didn’t seem to be working was the light meter. Willing to take a chance, I bought some film (Walgreens, if you’re wondering where I found film that wasn’t Amazon), cleaned up the battery compartment and took it for a little spin.

yashica-1

I have no idea if anything will come out, if there are any other mechanical issues, if there will be light leaks since the seal around the film is pretty rough. But I don’t even care. Being able to fix the light meter myself was so exciting, I nearly cried. I asked my husband to drop the film off back at the ol’ Walgreens to see if anything will come out. They have to send it out, and I can pick up in FIVE DAYS. For real. How am I going to wait five days?! The anticipation might kill me. Are all the shots over exposed, since I didn’t have the light meter working? Did the film even load correctly? What’s my field look like?

If you are a film photographer help a sister out. Where can I send film and get digital negatives back, that I could edit? Is the FindLab the best place to do this? I don’t even know what I don’t know. I am probably putting my cart way before my horse, but hey, can you blame me?

 

****EDIT*** Turns out WG was a bad, bad decision. I went to pick up the film when they told me I should, and was informed that they hadn’t sent it out yet, and that they may not for UP TO A MONTH. #ohhellno right. I picked the undeveloped film up and sent it to OldSchoolPhotoLab in Dover. NH instead.

2 thoughts on “Thrift shop find! { film photography}

Leave a Reply

