Thrift Shop Find UPDATE! {film photography}

A few weeks back, I was one of the lucky few who find vintage cameras in thrift shops. I happened upon a Yashica 35ME at Givits Thrift and Recycle. Read about that HERE. I used up one roll of film, with all my fingers crossed that something, anything at all would come out. The camera itself could have had any number of issues; it’s about forty years old and had been lord only knows where its entire life. If it had issues, that would have been fine, buuuuuuut I really wanted it to work.

I sent my roll of film (Kodak Gold 400) off to OldSchoolPhotoLab, paid my fee (more on that later) and thought, “here goes nothing,”. Let me say straight off, OldSchoolPhotoLab is fast like lightening. I mailed my film on Friday- to Dover, NH from Cleveland, OH. I selected high res scans and 4×6 prints. I got my gallery with scans on Wednesday. That’s pretty fast, friends.

So what was on those scans? Oh just things like… 1wm15  And a couple of these…

10wm18wm

And then these… 19wm

23wm
I love that the lens focused on the blades of grass, and my daughter is soft behind the grass.

But my favorite shot, of all 27 that came out, is this one. It’s 100% out of focus, but it looks like a memory. Sort of fuzzy, like you know it’s there but you can’t quite make out the details. The soft greens, and the sky through the tree limbs, my daughter’s bike in the lower corner… the shadow of the bridge on the creek bank. I just freaking love this so much. It’s technically garbage being 100% OOF but man. Rules are made to be broken, right? 25wm

I can’t wait to get my little prints back! I am going to work on learning the camera’s focus planes, and keep shooting. I am so so so excited to have found this camera. Talk about a great Mother’s Day gift!

One thought on “Thrift Shop Find UPDATE! {film photography}

Leave a Reply

