More film!

As I talked about HERE, I picked up a vintage film camera a Yashica 35ME and had a roll developed. I learned so much from that first roll, and I can proudly say my second and third rolls are so cool and much improved (humble brag haha).

2nd3rdcollagewm

The sky photos I’m getting from the Yashica on film make my little heart go pitter pat!

I was also sent a Vivitar v3000s film camera by my friend Amanda which is so awesome. I’ve shot off a couple rolls of film on it, but haven’t sent them out for development. I send my film HERE. The Vivitar is a fully manual body, so using it is similar to using my Nikon D750. I’m excited to see what comes out from it!  I have been really enjoying shooting with film. I truly thought I would be frustrated- making mistakes and not seeing them or being able to correct them until I have a scan or the film in my hand was a challenge but I found myself totally consumed with slowing down, getting it right, remembering to shoot smarter, quality of quantity. After all, when you only have 24 exposures to work with, you can’t waste a shot. Being able to get a shot of the moon below was probably one of my most exciting things! The lens is a wide angle 28mm lens, which isn’t the greatest for astrophotography like this (though wide angles are GREAT for shooting the Milky Way and other stars)  but I’m *super* happy with this shot!

BG-Yashica-14wm

We are so spoiled with the digital technology available to us; I cannot imagine trying to learn the basics on film. Film photographers who do so and did so, you are amazing to me. When I was learning the fundamentals of photography, seeing the image immediately was critical for me. I needed to be able to see, right then what happened when I opened my lens all the way, what happened to my depth of field, my focal plane. I needed to find the spot where my shaky hands wouldn’t affect my image (shutter speeds of 1/200th or 1/250th are good for me), I needed to see that if I dialed up my ISO, I would also have to make changes to my f-stop and shutter speed. Learning this way helped me so much and I’m glad to have had that foundation to build film photography on J I would love to build my film body collection! I really love what I have been able to get out of my Yashica and I am so glad that my friends have been so encouraging not only with my digital work but with these personal film images 😀

If you have a film camera, run out to the drug store and grab a pack of film! It’s such a treat. Sure, you can’t immediately upload that shot of your sandwich to Instagram or put the puppy face filter over your image on SnapChat, but there is something even better about holding your physical print 🙂

SaveSave

SaveSave

2 thoughts on “More film!

  1. It’s so funny, I had the hardest time learning digital cause I was so used to film! For a long time it felt like cheating to me to look at the back of my camera during a shoot and I was trying to limit how many photos I took. Now I’m a crazy overshooting queen 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

